Search Site
Somerville Top Banner
Home Departments Residents Businesses Government


Jul 03, 2014

2014 SOMERMOVIE “FEAST,” SUNSETTERS LOCATIONS ANNOUNCED

2014 SOMERMOVIE "FEAST," SUNSETTERS LOCATIONS ANNOUNCED
Summer movie festival to feature food-related films, Sunsetters to perform across the City through July, August.


SOMERVILLE – Mayor Joseph A. Curtatone announces the lineups for the 2014 SomerMovie FEAST and Somerville Sunsetters. Showings for the annual movie festival are scheduled every Thursday evening at dusk, beginning with a screening of “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” (1971 version) on July 10 at Seven Hills Park in Davis Square. Movies are shown every Thursday night through August 28 at locations throughout the city, culminating with a Viewer’s Choice selection, voted by attendees throughout the summer, of one of the four following films: “Supersize Me,” “Mystic Pizza,” “Attack of the Killer Tomatoes,” and “No Reservations.” The 2014 movie series will feature movies with a food theme, as follows:

July 10

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971)

G

Seven Hills Park

Davis Square

July 17

Fried Green Tomatoes

PG-13

City Hall Concourse

Highland Ave.

July 24

Soylent Green

PG

Seven Hills Park

Davis Square

July 31

Chocolat

PG-13

Nathan Tufts Park

Powderhouse Circle

August 7

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs

PG

Chuckie Harris Park

Cross Street East

August 14

Julie & Julia

PG-13

Conway Park

Somerville Ave.

August 21

Ratatouille

G

Seven Hills Park

Davis Square

August 28

Viewer’s Choice

Seven Hills Park

Davis Square

All movies will be shown with English subtitles for individuals who are deaf or have hearing loss. The 2014 SomerMovie Fest is sponsored by the City of Somerville, Comcast, and Assembly Row. The 2014 Somerville Sunsetters, a traveling performance group comprised of Somerville youth ages 11 through 18, will perform in Somerville neighborhoods on Monday through Thursday evenings in July and August. The full performance schedule is as follows (and can also be found at www.somervillema.gov):

• Monday, July 7: Flint Street • Tuesday, July 8: Nunziato Field @ Vinal Avenue • Wednesday, July 9: Boston Avenue (Kidder Avenue area) • Thursday, July 10: Hall Street @ Cedar Street • Monday, July 14: Lincoln Park • Tuesday, July 15: Bay State Avenue • Wednesday, July 16: 70 Perkins Street • Thursday, July 17: Windsor Road • Monday, July 21: Palmacci Park • Tuesday, July 22: Jeanne Jugan Residence (indoors, for residents) • Wednesday, July 23: Pearl Street Park • Thursday, July 24: Hall Avenue • Monday, July 28: Rose Street • Tuesday, July 29: Cobble Hill Apartments (indoors) • Wednesday, July 30: Chandler Street • Thursday, July 31: Kensington Avenue • Monday, August 4: City Hall Concourse • Tuesday, August 5: National Night Out, Foss Park (7:30 p.m.) • Wednesday, August 6: Mayor’s Senior Picnic, Nathan Tufts Park (11:30 a.m.) • Wednesday, August 6: Glen Park (7 p.m.) • Thursday, August 7: Perry Park • Monday, August 11: Winslow Avenue @ Ciampa Manor • Tuesday, August 12: Lowell Street VNA (indoors) • Wednesday, August 13: Properzi Manor • Monday, August 18: Capen Court VNA (indoors) • Tuesday, August 19: Hudson Street (Cedar Street to Lowell Street portion) • Wednesday, August 20: Cottage Avenue • Thursday, August 21: Farragut Avenue (final performance)


All Sunsetters performances begin at 7 p.m., and are subject to change due to inclement weather. For more information, or for adjusted schedules in case of inclement weather, please call 311 or check www.somervillema.gov for updates.